Daily Prompt: West End Girls

by Krista on February 18, 2014

Every city and town contains people of different classes: rich, poor, and somewhere in between. What’s it like where you live? If it’s difficult for you to discern and describe the different types of classes in your locale, describe what it was like where you grew up — was it swimming pools and movie stars, industrial and working class, somewhere in between or something completely different?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us SOCIETY.

I find it rather interesting that the prompt is entitled: West End Girls because I’m currently residing in west Texas. I suppose it’s just a little funny to me, more than anything else.

West Texas looks just like you would think, something from the late 90s western movies. We’ve got the old-looking buildings and let us never forget about the tumbleweed that comes rolling during high noon. Yes, that happens. But that’s not to say the city doesn’t know how to entertain its dwellers. As soon as you step outside, it’s just like any other place: filled with fast food places, bars, restaurants, parks, malls, helicopters on emergency hospital rooftops, college students, and the like.

The people here? Well, I can only speak about the limited population with whom I have contact: my classmates and at that, the ones I am communicate with.

Most of my classmates seem to be somewhere in the middle class. But that could just be because they are students and have better things to do than go buy fancy clothes or even care what they look like. I have gone to school repeating an outfit and no one batted an eye. On the other hand, being in a professional school also means that some days, people will come dressed in a full 3 piece suit. For the most part, people dress pretty casual, jeans and a t-shirt. Well, not now because it’s been really cold and snowing recently but you get the point. I have yet to see someone show up in their pajamas. Oh, how I wish that I had so then I could start doing it without feeling bad about it. Alas, I’m not that lucky.

The people here are super nice, southern hospitality at its best. For example, I was witnessing for a mock trial competition for a team that I had never met. It was fun. Let’s just say that I was a good witness for my team and not the best person/witness for the opposing team. Afterwards, the opposing team members and I spoke and no one held a grudge or anything – we even gave each other constructive criticism.

The others that I have met outside of school have been just amazing as well. When I first moved out here, being a brown girl, I was a bit skeptical because I had a mental image of how west Texans would treat me. I was so wrong that it makes me question my sanity sometimes. At least, it keeps me in check before I start making judgments about others. I have yet to run into any racism problems. I’ve only met 1 ignorant person out of hundreds but it’s not this place’s fault. You’re bound to run into a few no matter where you go.

West Texas is awesome and if you can enjoy the quiet lifestyle, this is the place for you. If you want the upbeat lifestyle, then this is a place for you too. You just have to find the right people and then it doesn’t matter much where you are. In the end, it’s really about the company you keep and not the place where you’re at.

As I’m finishing writing this, I’m realizing that I haven’t done much to show society as the prompt asked me to do but I suppose this will have to do as I have somewhere to be now.

 

