What are your earliest and fondest memories of dance? Photographers, artists, poets: show us MOVEMENT.

Oh gosh, I don’t remember. Although I do remember a bad experience. It was for someone’s wedding and I wanted to learn a dance for it. I was highly criticized for it so much that I don’t think I’ve even given a try since. I just couldn’t get the rhythm right and kept tapping my feet at the wrong time. And, then there’s the whole thing where I’m pretty sure, I’m tone deaf. I couldn’t move my body to the music either. 

Did I give up? No, I did not. I picked it up again about 10 years later. I decided to do zumba. There was no criticism this time from a 3rd party. It was just me looking at the mirror momentarily as I tried to follow the instructors. I looked ridiculous and I thanked the person who criticized me all those years ago. I should never be allowed to dance in public and should do it sparingly in private too.

Did that stop me? No, I don’t learn my lesson. I “tried” to do a dance move at a work lunch once (those were the good ol’ days). It was horrible and I’m just glad that I knew that all the witnesses aka my coworkers would all be placed in different areas. Thank goodness!

Does this mean I’m quitting now? I’m just taking a break until I can really get over myself before I give it another try.

