“On the Weather”

Cold Front go away

The snowpocolypse of West Texas

Is giving me the sniffles

When I first began blogging, I was sure that it would be a prose blog. I can’t write poetry. That’s something that creative people do. Not people like me. Not those who love lists and order. I need directions from A-Z and I need my hand to be held as I take the journey from A to B to C and so on. I always thought of poetry as the opposite of that.

Then, I had a crazy idea towards the end of March 2014. I would participate in National Poetry Writing Month even if I didn’t know how to write one. I did it anyways and the poems were horrible. Who cares? I wrote poetry and I enjoyed it. Who would’ve thunk that I’d be able to write poetry? Not me!

I want to continue writing poetry about my random on goings of my life in Texas. I say I want this to be a poetry blog but who knows where I end up as thoughts pour from head and flow from hands to my keyboard.

Anyhow, my message to my readers: don’t knock it till you’ve tried it. That’s all. Don’t give up hope on a certain type of project just because you don’t think you’re good enough. Just remember no one is born excellent and even the best of us were beginners once. Some beginnings are just absolutely horrible (see my first few poems on this blog) but sometimes, just sometimes, you realize that somewhere in between you’ve gotten better (and into the territory from absolutely horrible to somewhat horrible).

That’s why I write and hopefully, someone somewhere will relate to my weird life.

