Daily Propmt: Happy Endings- Tell us about something you’ve tried to quit. Did you go cold turkey, or for gradual change? Did it stick?

My name is Fatima and I’m a coca-cola addict. It all started out so innocently. I wanted a lunch break but didn’t have the time so I bought a Coke and a snickers. This became my daily lunch in college. I let go of the snickers quickly. But the soda habit continued. 

I began drinking 2 route 44 size cokes a day. I was not drinking enough water as I had but all replaced water with Coke. My stomach started hurting really bad and I developed one too many cavities. I realized that this was a horrible thing to put in my body. So it was time for a change. 

I went back down to 1 route 44 Coke a day. That was hard but I made myself drink water. I invented a new rule for myself: no soda until I’ve had at least 5 cups of water. 

Then, I made the decision to go back to school. I picked up my bad habits again/ snickers and soda. But my water rule saved me. I didn’t want to be more addicted that I already was. 

Slowly, I made a switch to large soda and water. I have had many relapses but I’m trying. 

Currently, I drink one can of soda a day and try to have at least 6 cups of water. I skip every other day. When I go without a whole week of soda, I reward myself with going out to eat and ordering sugary drinks instead…the real fruit sugar kind. 

