Daily Prompt: Unpopular: Tell us about a time when you had to choose between two options, and you picked the unpopular choice.

I have the option to shut my mouth (or not type anything) or say (write) something and I’m going to do embrace the unpopular option and say it. Suzanne Collins, the author of the Hunger Games is an amazing writer and so is J.K.Rowling. I love them both but I’m going to just say it.

Suzanne Collins:

Thank you for not placing any brown characters in your Hunger Game series.

You only had 13 districts to work with and I understand that placing a brown person in any one of them would have completely taken your attention away from black and white colored people. It does not and should not matter that half the population of the world is brown because you met your quota when you made Rue a black child. You think you only placed Katniss in the metaphorical arena in your novel. No. You did more than that. You marginalized and saw the world as only black and white, nothing more, because obviously there’s only 2 types of colored people in the world.

I suppose, in a way, I should thank you for not putting any brown people in your books, the way J.K. Rowling did. She made us look like pathetic losers (Cho and the Indian twins) so I suppose, it’s better not to present rather than to appear as invisible pathetic characters in works of fiction.

Today’s world only sees two races: Black and White. I’m here to tell you that there’s more than that. Please see us. Please put us in your stories.

If someone does put us in their stories, please show us on the big screen. I’m looking at you The Martian. One of the main characters was brown but you would only know that if you read the book. In the movie, he is portrayed by a black man. Just because you replace one minority with another minority, does not make it okay!

So this is me embracing the unpopular option and asking for more brown people. There’s more of us than you realize!

Shout out to Mindy Kaling and Aziz Ansari for representing brown people!

