Gone are etiquette and common sense

I’ll be the first to admit that sometimes, I really do lack common sense but that’s more b/c I do not have the right cultural background. So sometimes, what is normal in my native culture is the dumbest thing to do in the culture that I’ve now integrated myself into.

But even then, some things DO translate.

For the love of God, do not call people after 9pm if you’re not related, in a relationship, haven’t talked in months, barring emergencies. Assume rest of post is not for emergency situations.

If you absolutely must call and you’re leaving a voicemail, do NOT let it be: “I need to talk to you about something. Call me back.” WTF???

Why would you give a person a panic attack?

It’s not an emergency. Do not call past 9pm. Do not leave a cryptic voicemail that can be taken to mean an emergency situation has arisen especially when the matter can be easily discussed during daylight hours. And, if you already know both of our schedules allow it to to place the calls during working hours.

What happens when you don’t follow the rule? The callee even if willing to help in the first place will now go out of their way never to help the caller.

It’s not just etiquette; it’s also common sense.

