Always look both ways before turning into a left one-way street. If you don’t, you might get hit by a 18 wheeler. You won’t even see it coming. You’ll be crushed from limb to limb. You’ll wake up in a hospital not knowing what happened to you. You’ll learn that you won’t be able to walk for a long time. You’ll be completely dependent on the hospital staff for over 6 months. You will become more depressed than ever. That’s when you’ll start to remember us. You’ll remember the good times, the laughter, the pure joy of being together. You’ll use those memories to get through your darkest hours. You will learn to slowly walk. You will learn to be a decent human being who is nice to the staff. You will learn that those that are less fortunate are there because it’s a choice. You will learn that you have to earn respect. You will learn that throwing money at everyone doesn’t work. You will learn that burying yourself in work left you with no one to care for you during this time. Perhaps then, you’ll know how much it hurt when I said “I love you.” And all you responded with was “I’m sorry but it’s one-sided.” The pain I felt then was worse than what you’d feel during and after you accident. I hope you never feel this pain and you just become a better person but I’m not holding out hope.

 

Obviously, I’m in a weird mood and this little story went in a much different direction than what I’d originally started with.

Always look both ways before turning into a left one-way street. That’s one of the best driving instructions I’ve had.